Which Indian State shares its boundaries with maximum states?

Uttar Pradesh shares its boundaries with maximum states.

Although Uttar Pradesh comes at the fourth place in terms of area, the state shares its borders with as many as 9 states/Union Territories, apart from sharing International border with Nepal. In north, Uttar Pradesh shares its border with the states of Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh, in west with the states of Haryana, Delhi and Rajasthan, in South with Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh and in the east with the states of Jharkhand and Bihar.

Assam comes at the second position in terms of sharing boundaries with maximum states. The state shares its boundaries with as many as seven states, apart from sharing international boundaries with Bhutan and Bangladesh. Arunachal Pradesh is in north, West Bengal is located in west, Nagaland and Manipur in the east whereas Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram in the south. Assam is the only state among the seven sisters which shares its borders with the rest of the six states that comprise the seven sisters.

Each of the states of Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Karnataka share their borders with six neighboring states. Chhattisgarh shares its borders with the states of Uttar Pradesh in north, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra in west, Telangana in southwest, Odisha in east and Jharkhand in northeast. State of Maharashtra shares its borders with Madhya Pradesh in north, Gujarat in northwest, Goa and Karnataka in south, Telangana in southeast and Chhattisgarh in east. Similarly, the state of Karnataka also shares its borders with as many as six states – Maharashtra in north, Telangana in northeast, Andhra Pradesh in east, Tamil Nadu in southeast, Kerala in south and Goa in west.

Interestingly, Sikkim and Meghalaya are the only two states having borders with only one state – Sikkim has borders with West Bengal only, while sharing its international borders with three nations – China, Bhutan and Nepal. Similarly, Meghalaya has borders with Assam only (in north and in east) whereas it has international boundaries with Bangladesh in west and south.