List of all Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950–2020)

Indian government invites a foreign leader every year on the occasion of Republic day parade. This year Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro will be the chief guest of republic day parade 2020. Pakistan’s Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad was the first person who attended the Republic day parade as the chief guest at Rajpath, New Delhi.

Republic day Parade celebration

Republic day Parade celebration

India an independent, sovereign and democratic country implemented its constitution on 26 January 1950. Now India is a democratic Republic that celebrates a grand ceremony on the 26 January every year to commemorate the day. 

The initial four Republic day parades were held at different places (Red Fort, Ramlila Grounds, Irwin Stadium, Kingsway) between 1950 to 1954. But the first celebration was held at Rajpath in 1955.


The Indonesian President Sukarno was the first Chief guest on the very first Republic Day parade of India. Representatives from the United Kingdom and France have been invited 5 times each.

Let’s have a look on the list of all the Chief Guests at Republic day parade;

YearGuest NameCountry
1950President SukarnoIndonesia
1951King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah     Nepal
1952No invitation —
1953No invitation —
1954King Jigme Dorji WangchuckBhutan
1955Governor General Malik Ghulam MuhammadPakistan
1956Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. ButlerChief Justice Kotaro Tanaka   United KingdomJapan
1957Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov   Soviet Union
1958Marshall Ye Jianying  China
1959Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip   United Kingdom
1960President Kliment VoroshilovUSSR
1961Queen Elizabeth IIUnited Kingdom
1962Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann   Denmark
1963King Norodom SihanoukCambodia
1964Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten   United Kingdom
1965Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul HamidPakistan
1966No invitation No invitation
1967King Mohammed Zahir Shah   Afghanistan
1968Prime Minister Alexei KosyginUSSR
President Josip Broz Tito SFR Yugoslavia
1969Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor ZhivkovBulgaria
1970King of the Belgians Baudouin   Belgium
1971President Julius NyerereTanzania
1972Prime Minister Seewoosagur RamgoolamMauritius
1973President Mobutu Sese SekoZaire
1974President Josip Broz TitoSFR Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias BandaranaikeSri Lanka
1975President Kenneth KaundaZambia
1976Prime Minister Jacques ChiracFrance
1977First Secretary Edward GierekPoland
1978President Patrick HilleryIreland
1979Prime Minister Malcolm FraserAustralia
1980President Valéry Giscard d’EstaingFrance
1981President José López PortilloMexico
1982King Juan Carlos ISpain
1983President Shehu ShagariNigeria
1984King Jigme Singye WangchuckBhutan
1985President Raúl AlfonsínArgentina
1986Prime Minister Andreas PapandreouGreece
1987President Alan GarcíaPeru
1988President Junius JayewardeneSri Lanka
1989General Secretary Nguyen Van LinhViet Nam
1990Prime Minister Anerood JugnauthMauritius
1991President Maumoon Abdul GayoomMaldives
1992President Mário SoaresPortugal
1993Prime Minister John MajorUnited Kingdom
1994Prime Minister Goh Chok TongSingapore
1995President Nelson MandelaSouth Africa
1996President Dr. Fernando Henrique CardosoBrazil
1997Prime Minister Basdeo PandayTrinidad and Tobago
1998President Jacques ChiracFrance
1999King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah DevNepal
2000President Olusegun ObasanjoNigeria
2001President Abdelaziz BouteflikaAlgeria
2002President Cassam UteemMauritius
2003President Mohammed KhatamiIran
2004President Luiz Inacio Lula da SilvaBrazil
2005King Jigme Singye WangchuckBhutan
2006King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[Saudi Arabia
2007President Vladimir PutinRussia
2008President Nicolas SarkozyFrance
2009President Nursultan NazarbayevKazakhstan
2010President Lee Myung BakRepublic of Korea
2011President Susilo Bambang YudhoyonoIndonesia
2012Prime Minister Yingluck ShinawatraThailand
2013King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel WangchuckBhutan
2014Prime Minister Shinzo AbeJapan
2015President Barack ObamaUnited States
2016President François HollandeFrance
2017Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin ZayedUnited Arab Emirates
2018Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah
Joko Widodo
Thongloun Sisoulith
Prime Minister Hun Sen
Najib Razak
President Htin Kyaw
Rodrigo Roa Duterte
Halimah Yacob
Prayuth Chan-ocha
Nguyễn Xuân Phúc
2019President Cyril Ramaphosa  South Africa
2020President Jair BolsonaroBrazil

The main purpose of inviting a foreign leader is to boost the bilateral relations and to show the diversity and prosperity of the Indian culture.

6 thoughts on “List of all Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950–2020)”

  1. My husband and i felt quite happy Jordan could deal with his survey by way of the precious recommendations he acquired out of your weblog. It is now and again perplexing just to find yourself giving out methods that many the rest have been making money from. And we also keep in mind we have the writer to be grateful to because of that. Most of the illustrations you made, the straightforward web site menu, the friendships you can aid to foster – it is all superb, and it’s really making our son in addition to the family know that the concept is brilliant, which is pretty fundamental. Thank you for the whole lot!

  2. I really wanted to write down a note to be able to express gratitude to you for some of the precious information you are writing at this site. My time intensive internet look up has at the end been rewarded with reliable suggestions to write about with my contacts. I would believe that we visitors actually are rather blessed to be in a remarkable community with many brilliant individuals with very beneficial basics. I feel somewhat happy to have encountered your entire web pages and look forward to many more enjoyable moments reading here. Thanks a lot again for everything.

  3. I really wanted to write a brief message so as to thank you for the lovely secrets you are sharing here. My time-consuming internet search has finally been rewarded with high-quality information to exchange with my company. I would repeat that most of us site visitors actually are really fortunate to exist in a remarkable site with many awesome people with great tips and hints. I feel very much blessed to have come across your webpages and look forward to plenty of more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks once again for a lot of things.

  4. Thank you a lot for giving everyone a very wonderful possiblity to check tips from this site. It can be very lovely and as well , jam-packed with a great time for me personally and my office colleagues to search the blog no less than thrice in one week to study the newest stuff you have. And of course, I’m also always astounded with your great hints served by you. Some 4 ideas in this article are absolutely the simplest I have ever had.

  5. I have to point out my admiration for your kind-heartedness giving support to individuals that really want assistance with this important situation. Your real dedication to passing the message around had become particularly valuable and have in every case enabled individuals like me to arrive at their aims. Your amazing useful recommendations signifies much to me and far more to my office colleagues. Warm regards; from all of us.

  6. I in addition to my pals were looking through the great solutions located on the blog and then then got a horrible suspicion I had not thanked the web site owner for those tips. The boys are already for this reason very interested to read through all of them and have in effect very much been taking pleasure in them. Many thanks for genuinely simply helpful and then for making a choice on this form of fine resources millions of individuals are really eager to be informed on. Our sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to sooner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *